Thrilling season-closer in Barcelona


Stuvik was already crowned champion at Monza but Janosz and Palou are in the midst of a battle for second place. Large entry list, up to a total of 23 cars, and noticeable novelties including two comebacks, Urien (DAV Racing) and Mason (Emilio de Villota Motorsport), and no less than four debuts: Walilko (Team West-Tec), Beretta (BVM Racing), Pulcini (DAV Racing) and Rovera (Corbetta). Spanish F.3 championship to be decided

The Euroformula Open heads to the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya for its eighth and last meeting this season, the venue hosting the season finale for this European championship every year.

Thailand´s Sandy Stuvik (RP Motorsport), in his second year in the series, secured the title in Italy after an impressive six-victory winning streak at Silverstone, Spa-Francorchamps and Monza. But the Catalan track will decide the runner-up to Stuvik with two contenders involved: Artur Janosz (RP Motorsport) and Alex Palou (Campos Racing).

Janosz, sitting second overall in the Euroformula Open, holds a 19-point advantage over Palou. “No doubt this weekend will be all about the fight for second place overall. After Monza I have 19 points advantage over Alex Palou but this is motorsport and everything can happen”, Janosz comments. His opponent Palou explains that “despite we were left without options to win the championship after Monza, it was a great year for me battling every weekend with Stuvik and Janosz. It won´t be that easy to take the second place, but we will try it”.

Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) and Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec), fourth and fifth placed overall in the drivers´ standings, will continue their particular tough battle just like at previous events.

The entry list includes a total of twenty-three cars, all of these Dallaras F312, and several novelties: Igor Urien (DAV Racing) and Nelson Mason (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) make their return and other four debutants join the field in Barcelona: Poland´s Igor Walilko (Team West-Tec) and Italians Michele Beretta (BVM Racing), Leonardo Pulcini (DAV Racing) and Alessio Rovera (Corbetta Competizioni).

The Spanish F3 championship – after rounds held at Autódromo do Algarve and Circuito de Jerez- is led by Stuvik, on 79 points, with Janosz and Palou on 64 and 60 respectively. Stern, Kanamaru and Konstantin Tereschenko (Campos Racing) still finished there with mathematical possibilities to clinch the title.  

The Euroformula Open is joined by the International GT Open, the SEAT León Eurocup and the Radical European Masters. TV coverage is excellent including among others Motors TV (Europe), Raisport 2 (Italy), Sport TV (Portugal), BT Sport (England), Poverkhnost Sport TV 2 (Russia), Teledeporte and Canal + Deportes (Spain), Sport TV (Turkey), Pol Sat (Poland), Sport 5 (Israel) and Digisport (Hungary and Romania) among others.