Stuvik takes title after Monza win


Setting a record of six consecutive race wins, the driver of RP Motorsport has secured this afternoon his triumph in the 2014 Euroformula Open. Janosz (RP Motorsport) and Höher (BVM Racing) also on the podium, with the Austrian youngster claiming his maiden podium in the series

Sandy Stuvik (RP Motorsport), runner-up to Ed Jones in the Euroformula Open last year, was regarded by many as one of the main title contenders this season. Today he has met the expectations claiming the title with another dominant win, to note it was his sixth win in-a-row and tenth this season. In the morning Stuvik stormed to pole position once again, half a second ahead of Christopher Höher (BVM Racing), Kevin Giovesi (DAV Racing) and Artur Janosz (RP Motorsport). Alex Palou (Campos Racing), struggling with traffic, qualified 13th.

The race was promptly started at 12.30 and Stuvik, when the lights went out, managed to keep the lead ahead of Giovesi, John Simonyan (RP Motorsport), Janosz and Höher, as the Austrian´s start was not particularly brilliant. With Stuvik leading the pack, it did not take him too long before pulling away from his rivals despite the efforts of Giovesi, Janosz – now third after Simonyan was given a drive-through penalty-, Höher and Saravia.

On lap five Janosz made a pass on Giovesi for second, and behind Saravia and Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec) were getting involved in a close battle for fifth place. By the halfway point Stuvik was a solid leader, ahead of Janosz, Giovesi and Höher, but behind there were more changes. Saravia spun while running fifth and shortly after Stern, Palou and Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) collided with one another and, as a result, Palou had a flat tire and Stern was forced to retire. Kanamaru, on the inside, was able to continue without major problems.

With Stuvik almost a crowned champion, Giovesi overtakes Janosz on the penultimate lap but the Polish driver makes a final movement on the very last lap at the Variante del Rettifilo. They clash but Janosz takes advantage and unfortunately for Giovesi, also Höher passes him.

After 16 laps, Stuvik confirms his title winning on the Italian track, with Janosz finishing second, securing 1-2 finish for RP Motorsport and moving one step closer to the vice-
championship. Höher finishes third, with Giovesi fourth. Damiano Fioravanti (BVM Racing)
takes fifth place, with Guatemala´s Saravia sixth close behind. Che-One Lim (Emilio de
Villota Motorsport) finished 7th and Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team West-Tec) inherits 8th
from Kanamaru, who ran wide at the Parabolica. Sean Walkinshaw (Campos Racing) and
Constantino Peroni (DAV Racing) rounded off the top-ten today.

The Euroformula Open heads to Spain now, for the final round taking place at the Circuit
de Barcelona-Catalunya in November.