Stuvik storms to superb win in thrilling Monza race


Fifth victory in-a-row for the Thai driver and it was a significant step towards the title, as Palou (Campos Racing) retired on lap one. Janosz (RP Motorsport) and Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) also on the podium after a tight battle

The Autodromo Nazionale di Monza always makes emotions stronger, and today was no exception. A 16-lap race absolutely restless for drivers, teams, cars and fans. Finally Sandy Stuvik (RP Motorsport) took another win with his Dallara F312 after grabbing another pole position in the morning, ahead of Andrés Saravia (RP Motorsport), Alex Palou (Campos Racing) and Kevin Giovesi (DAV Racing).

At the start, Saravia overtook Stuvik approaching the famous Variante del Rettifilo, and at the same time, behind Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) passes Kevin Giovesi (DAV Racing) on the inside and, shortly after, he manages to make an overtaking maneuver on Palou. Both cars clash and as a result there is a rollover of Palou, forcing him to retire. The stewards judged it as a racing incident and no more actions were taken.

Still on the first lap, Saravia and Stuvik fight for lead, with Guatemala´s pilot ahead of his Thai teammate. Anyway Stuvik was a man on a mission and before long he passed Saravia, pulling away from the rest of the field. Behind him the battle was indescribable with no less than four cars involved, both RP Motorsport men, Saravia and Artur Janosz, Kanamaru and Giovesi who, after a small off track on lap two, was regaining ground running fifth. When the race was coming to an end, Janosz took advantage of a real slipstream fight to pass his rivals for second place, while Giovesi and Saravia were left with no options, especially the American driver as he spun and retired on the very last lap. After 16 laps, Stuvik claimed his ninth triumph of the season, with Janosz second – scoring an extra point after setting today´s fastest lap- and Kanamaru third. Giovesi was fourth, maybe a meagre reward for him after a brilliant performance.

Campos Racing secured fifth and sixth places with his duo of Konstantin Tereschenko and Sean Walkinshaw, with Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec) settling for seventh place. Nicolas Pohler (Team West-Tec) came 8th and Damiano Fioravanti (BVM Racing) and Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team West-Tec) rounded off the top-ten. Sathienthirakul was given a drive through at the beginning due to a false start.