Sandy Stuvik wins action-packed race one at Spa


Vibrant Saturday´s race finally won by Sandy Stuvik (RP Motorsport) strengthening his lead ahead of Alex Palou (Campos Racing), second today. Simonyan (RP Motorsport) claims maiden podium in the series.

Spa-Francorchamps has not disappointed and the Belgian track has held a nose-to-tail racing for almost the entire race, with particularly two drivers carrying out two outstanding performances: Sandy Stuvik (RP Motorsport) and Alex Palou (Campos Racing). Early in the morning, the Thai driver managed to set a new pole position record beating Palou by seven tenths. Behind Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec) and Artur Janosz (RP Motorsport) shared the second row on the grid.

When the race got underway, Palou overtook Stuvik for the lead at the start. Behind Wei Fung Thong (Team West-Tec) and Constantino Peroni (DAV Racing) collided and the safety car was deployed. After two laps, as the safety car headed the pit lane, race action started again. Stuvik and Palou passed each other several times but fair play was always the key note. Stern was third, close to them, but Israel´s driver spun on lap fourth and was forced to retire.

When the first drops began to fall, Stuvik took advantage of that and gradually pulled away from Palou. After fourteen laps, Stuvik crossed the finish line in first place and now still leads by 28 points. Palou had to put up with the second place on the podium but it was still very rewarding. John Simonyan (RP Motorsport) managed to finish a faultless race and finally achieved his maiden podium in the series, third on the rostrum. Simonyan and Janosz battled for several laps but the Polish driver chose to pit for wet tyres with four laps to go but his pit strategy did not pay off at all and came in 14th, a serious blow to his title chances.

Alex Toril finished fourth with one of the Emilio de Villota cars and the Spaniard proved once again how fast he is. He was able to keep at bay Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team Wes-Tec), Christopher Höher (BVM) and Nicholas Pohler (Team West-Tec), fifth, sixth and seventh respectively. Sean Walkinshaw (Campos Racing) came in 8th place, despite he spun when weather conditions got worse, and Saud Al Faisal (RP Motorsport) and Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) also finished in the top-ten. Kanamaru was the best classified driver on wets.