The Euroformula Open back in action at Spa-Francorchamps


The championship resumes after the summer break in August and title fight continues with the “usual suspects”: Stuvik (RP Motorsport), Palou (Campos Racing) and Janosz (RP Motorsport). There will be some significant novelties and 20 cars are expected in Belgium.

The Euroformula Open resumes at Spa-Francorchamps, where the sixth round of the season is held next weekend. The Belgian track is, each and every season, one of the most anticipated events for drivers, teams and fans and the 2014 season will not be anything different from other years. The track lying in the vicinity of Spa and Francorchamps, 7,004 kilometers long, foresees another thrilling and close competition to triumph and its results could become another decisive chapter for the title.

Stuvik, one of the Thai drivers in the series, is now leading the driver point standings in the Euroformula Open driving for second season in a row a car entered by RP Motorsport. With 188 points, after a double win at Silverstone, he has a twenty-point lead over Alex Palou (Campos Racing). Palou is enjoying a record-breaking dream season and with 160 points the driver born in Barcelona lies second ahead of Poland´s Artur Janosz (RP Motorsport). Janosz, who led for a while earlier this season, was recently overtaken by Stuvik and Palou but still has great potential for title.

Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) and Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec) round off the top 5 places, as they both carrying out good performances before the summer break at Silverstone. Kanamaru, Japan´s driver debuting in the series, will be another driver to consider by the end of the season and the Israeli racer, scoring now points on a regular basis almost ever, will have a lot to say as well.    

The entry list includes twenty cars and, apart from the ones already mentioned, it is important to mention others names such as Andrés Saravia, Saud al Faisal and John Simonyan, of RP Motorsport, Nici Pohler, Tanart Sathienthirakul and Wei Fung Thong, driving cars of Team West-Tec, Che One Lim (Emilio de Villota Motorsport), Christopher Höher (BVM racing), or Sean Walkinshaw (half Belgian as he was born in Brussels) and Konstantin Tereschenko, of Campos Racing.

There are some interesting novelties for this round. Alex Toril. 5th in 2013, is back driving a Dallara F312 car fielded by Emilio de Villota Motorsport. But this is not the only comeback, because other two drivers also return at Spa-Francorchamps: Williams Barbosa (Corbetta Competizioni) and Constantino Peroni (DAV Racing). Matteo Davenia and his team will have another addition personified in Leonardo Pulcini.  

The Euroformula Open is joined by the International GT Open, the SEAT León Eurocup, the Radical European Masters and the BRCC. TV coverage is excellent including among others Motors TV (Europe), Raisport 2 (Italy), Sport TV (Portugal), BT Sport (England), Poverkhnost Sport TV 2 (Russia), Teledeporte and Canal + Deportes (Spain), Sport TV (Turkey), Pol Sat (Poland), Sport 5 (Israel) and Digisport (Hungary and Romania) among others.