The Euroformula Open visits the Home of British Motor Racing: Silverstone


Fifth round of the season for the series and the title fight will be more exciting than ever as three drivers are separated by only nine points. Janosz (RP Motorsport) leads the drivers´ standing ahead his teammate Stuvik and Palou (Campos Racing).


The fifth event of the Euroformula Open is held at Silverstone next weekend. The track (5,891 meters long) next to the villages of Silverstone and Whittlebury is the current home of the British Grand Prix. The Euroformula Open pays his second visit to Silverstone, as it was introduced in the calendar for the first time in 2013. Then Ed Jones (Team West-Tec) and Santiago Urrutia (RP Motorsport) claimed both wins over the weekend.

The drivers´ classification, after eight races and when there are still eight other races ahead, looks more thrilling than ever. A mere nine points separate first from third, with Artur Janosz and Sandy Stuvik, of RP Motorsport, ahead of Alex Palou, the Campos Racing driver. His win and second place in Hungary were very beneficial for the Polish driver, taking the lead once again from Stuvik, who is second five points behind. The Hungarian venue was not very rewarding for Thailand´s driver. Palou is always on the lookout for the lead, and his streak of six podiums equals Janosz´s one.

Behind there are several drivers awaiting the opportunity to beat them and getting the most out of their errors, in order to bridging the gap in the standings. This is particularly the case of Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport), fourth, Cameron Twynham (Team West-Tec) or Konstantin Tereschenko (Campos Racing), lying fifth and sixth respectively. Great Britain´s Twynham, like Sean Walkinshaw (Campos Racing), will face the event more motivated than ever as they will race on their home turf.

Despite the Hungarian races were not that positive neither Yarin Stern nor Tanart Sathienthirakul, the pair of Team West-Tec will want to be back on the right track this week. Andrés Saravia (RP Motorsport), finishing on the rostrum for the very first time two weeks ago, shall be another driver to take into due account. Other drivers of BVM (Christopher Höher), DAV Racing (Gerardo Nieto, Henrique Baptista) or Corbetta Competizioni (Corbetta Competizioni) will do their best to run in top-positions as well.  

The Euroformula Open is joined by the International GT Open, the SEAT León Eurocup and the Maserati Trofeo MC International Series. TV coverage is excellent including among others Motors TV (Europe), Raisport 2 (Italy), Sport TV (Portugal), BT Sport (England), Poverkhnost Sport TV 2 (Russia), Teledeporte and Canal + Deportes (Spain), Sport TV (Turkey), Pol Sat (Poland), Sport 5 (Israel) and Digisport (Hungary and Romania) among others.

Download entry list