Artur Janosz charges to the win on Saturday


Lights-to-flag win for the Polish driver of RP Motorsport ahead of Palou (Campos Racing). Saravia claimed his maiden podium in the series and Stuvik, fourth, still keeps leading the drivers´championship

The Euroformula Open has delivered another twist of fate as Artur Janosz (RP Motorsport) claimed another win – his second one this season- and was the man to break the gust of wind of consecutive victories of Sandy Stuvik (RP Motorsport). In the morning, Janosz stormed to pole position beating Spain´s Alex Palou (Campos Racing), starting Stuvik and Sean Walkinshaw (Campos Racing) from second row.

As today´s temperature was rising, the race got underway and this time Janosz kept at bay Palou. Then, all of a sudden, Stuvik tried a risking overtaking maneuver on the inside and, for avoiding a clash with Janosz, Thai´s driver went off and was overtaken by no less than six cars. Behind another incident involving Cameron Twynham and Nici Pohler, teammates at Team West-Tec, retired both cars and the accident included Twynham´s Dallara F312 overturning – the driver was unharmed-.

As the safety car was deployed, it stayed on track for four laps before heading the pit-lane. Janosz was followed by Palou at the restart, and they both pulled away from the rest of the field. Behind Andrés Saravia was third, and Sean Walkinshaw (Campos Racing) and John Simonyan (RP Motorsport) were fourth and fifth respectively. On lap 11 another exciting moment, as Che-One Lim (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) tries to overtake Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec) and they collide. When the South-Korean driver is back to the racing, another clash with Christopher Hoeher (BVM) forced them to retire as they hit the wall hard.

Although Palou was doing his best, Janosz saw the checkered flag first and beating his Spanish rival by three seconds. In addition Janosz set today´s fastest lap collecting an extra point. Claiming the third place on the podium Saravia performed fantastically well, and achieving his best result in the series. Stuvik was struggling to pass other cars but drove using his head, and taking advantage of others´ faults, finished fourth. Stuvik managed to pass Walkinshaw and took fourth when Simonyan was given a drive-through penalty.

Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) was 6th behind Walkinshaw. DAV Racing duo, Henrique Baptista and Gerardo Nieto, came 7th and 8th and the top-ten places were rounded off by Wei Fung Thong (Team West-Tec) and Simonyan.