Sandy Stuvik takes dominant win on Saturday


Starting from the pole position, RP Motorsport driver has triumphed at the Circuito de Jerez ahead of his teammate Janosz and Stern (Team West-Tec). Now Stuvik leads the overall standings as well

Sandy Stuvik continues his charge and today has achieved his third win of the season in Jerez, where the third round of the series takes place. Early in the morning Stuvik stormed to pole position beating by a small margin his teammate at RP Motorsport Artur Janosz.

Race one has started at 15.00, local time, and Stuvik did not want to miss the opportunity of taking the series lead if he was able to win the race. The 2013 vice-champion has kept leading the race at the start, ahead of Janosz, Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec) and Alex Palou (Campos Racing). Although Palou made a good race start he was blocked by Janosz and Konstantin Tereschenko, also driving a Campos Racing car, took advantage for overtaking his teammate.

In spite of Janosz set today´s fastest lap, Stuvik showed a better race pace throughout eighteen laps and built solid lead. Finally he reached the end finishing almost four seconds ahead of Janosz, and taking another lights-to-flag win. Behind both RP Motorsport racers Stern carried out a good race to finish in third, his first podium this season and at times Israel´s driver appeared to challenge Janosz.

Palou, finally, was fourth as he was able to overtake Tereschenko with four laps to go following a minor mistake of his Russian teammate. Tereschenko, fifth, got under pressure from Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport). Even when the Japanese driver did not qualify pretty well, he went from less to more. Nici Pohler (Team West-Tec) ended 7th after a long breathless battle with Sean Walkinshaw (Campos Racing). Scotland´s driver was also passed by Andrés Saravia (RP Motorsport) and Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team West-Tec) on the very last lap and rounded off top-ten.

Although Stuvik has taken the lead in the Euroformula Open, Janosz keeps leading Spanish F3 championship. RP Motorsport is first in teams´classification.