Stuvik achieves his second win of the season. Janosz retains lead


One-two for RP Motorsport as its drivers Stuvik and Janosz dominated  the race held at the Autódromo do Algarve today. Palou third for Campos Racing. Copa was won by Constantino Peroni

The Euroformula Open meeting in Portugal has come to an end today, with race two at the Autódromo do Algarve. RP Motorsport set the pace once again and Fabio Pampado´s team leaves Southern Portugal leading the series as their drivers Sandy Stuvik and Artur Janosz were unbeatable this round.

In the morning, in the second qualifying session, Thailand´s Stuvik stormed to pole position ahead of his teammate, Janosz, and Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team West-Tec) and Alex Palou (Campos Racing). Unfortunately, for Sathienthirakul his win chances were gone when his car was moved into the pit-lane before the race start and although he rejoined the field, he started from the back. Another formation lap was required when Sean Walkinshaw (Campos Racing) stalled on the grid and finally, when the race – now consisting of 15 laps- was underway, Stuvik was leading ahead of Janosz, Palou, Gerardo Nieto (DAV Racing) and Yarin Stern (Team West-Tec).

Despite Stuvik was pushing all out, Janosz and Palou were not far behind. Nieto and Stern were fighting for 4th place, with the Mexican performing extremely well once again. Nieto and Stern overtook each other several times and when John Simonyan (RP Motorsport) joined them, a clash involving Israel´s driver and his Russian rival forced this to retire. Meanwhile Stuvik, despite a final charge coming from Janosz, even setting a fastest lap time at that moment, kept him at bay. With Janosz second, Palou was third for second time in-a-row, but scoring valuable points for the drivers´ championship.

Fourth-placed Nieto finished ahead of Che-One Lim (Emilio de Villota Motorsport), a good result for the South-Korean racer. Cameron Twynham (Team West-Tec) came in 6th and was the best classified driver at his team. Konstantin Tereschenko (Campos Racing) managed to finish seventh with a damaged car after an incident with Stern and Nici Pohler (Team West-Tec), Sathienthirakul and Henrique Baptista (DAV Racing) rounded off the top-ten. Constantino Peroni (RP Motorsport) claimed another win in the Cup.

Now, the series heads to Jerez, in two weeks´ time and Janosz is still leading drivers´ classification, one point on Stuvik. He also leads Spanish F3 championship, and RP Motorsport is first in the teams´ classification.