Stuvik takes win and lead in the Euroformula Open


Thailand´s driver, after a sensational pole position in the morning, has won his first race this season in the Euroformula Open. Janosz and Twynham finished on the podium as well. Al Faisal new race winner in Copa

Sandy Stuvik (RP Motorsport) has won Sunday´s race in the Euroformula Open after starting on pole position. Stuvik, runner-up to Ed Jones last season, clinched an sensational pole position in the morning, setting a time of 1:51.923 beating Yu Kanamaru (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) and Cameron Twynham (Team West-Tec). Alex Palou (Campos Racing),winner on his debut yesterday, started from third row.

When the race got underway, Kanamaru stalled and Stuvik kept his lead ahead of Palou, who made another brilliant start to overtake no less than four cars, and Igor Urien (Emilio de Villota Motorsport). Urien was running third behind Stuvik and Palou for a while but, by the halfway point, he was given a drive-through penalty as a consequence of jumping the start. Despite the efforts made by Stuvik, Thailand´s driver could not pull away from Palou until the Spanish driver retired on lap nine. Henceforth Stuvik had no problems to finish first after sixteen laps.  

Artur Janosz (RP Motorsport), fourth at the beginning behind Palou and Urien, took advantage of their problems to inherit an outstanding second place. For the Polish driver it was his maiden podium in the series. Another newcomer on the podium was Twynham, third at the end despite being under major pressure from his teammate Tanart Sathienthirakul, fourth.

Che-One Lim (Emilio de Villota Motorsport) was another eye-catcher over the race taking a fifth place from Damiano Fioravanti (Corbetta Competizioni), who was sixth. Konstantin Tereschenko (Campos Racing), Andrés Saravia (RP Motorsport), Nicolas Pohler (Team West-Tec) and Wei Fung Thong (Team West-Tec) rounded off the top-ten today after some brilliant overtaking maneuvers.

Saud Al Faisal (RP Motorsport) has beaten his teammate Constantino Peroni (RP Motorsport) to victory in Copa, and it was a milestone moment for the Saudi driver devoted to motorsport.