The 2013 Champions awarded in glamorous evening in Monte-Carlo


The 2013 winners of the International GT open and the European F.3 Open were duly celebrated Saturday evening at the awards ceremony and dinner which took place in the glamorous Hotel de l’Hermitage in Monte-Carlo that overlooks the legendary track. In a friendly and warm atmosphere, the community of the two series gathered to pay tribute to their Champions.

Carlos Gracia, Vice President of the FIA and President of the RFEA, honored the event of his presence and expressed “the FIA’s respect, appreciation and affection for what the two series promoted by GT Sport have achieved in very few years”.

Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, thanked teams, manufacturers, drivers and sponsors for their support and gave some hints about future developments for 2014, “a key year that we face with optimism”, and that will be geared up at positioning both series among “the very best in their respective categories at continental level”.

Ed Jones received the trophy as 2013 Champion of the European F.3 Open. The driver from Dubai commented: “I feel very proud of this title, in a championship which is probably one of the most competitive ones in the international scene”. Only runner-up Sandy Stuvik could not make it to the ceremony, with Nelson Mason receiving the award for 3rd classified and the three winners in the Cup, Tommaso Menchini (3rd), Cameron Twynham (2nd) and Champion Richard Gonda all present. Gonda expressed how proud he was to be the first Slovak driver to win an international single-seater competition.  Strong delegations from Team West-Tec and RP Motorsport attended, with Fabio Pampado and Nicky La Rocca collecting the Teams’ trophy for the Italian squad.

Superb watch trophies were also awarded to the winners by Dunlop, the faithful tire partner of the series, represented by Gary Wassel.