2012 Champions awarded in Monte Carlo


Niccolò Schirò, who clinched the title in the F3 Open this year, and Kevin Giovesi, winner in the Copa, received their well-deserved  trophies together with other prize winners in friendly and crowded ceremony

It was celebration time at Monaco on Saturday evening, as the 2012 winners of the European F3 Open and of the International GT Open received their prizes at the yearly Awards Ceremony, in the prestigious scenery of the Hotel Hermitage and in a very friendly atmosphere.

Star of the evening was the 2012 Champion, Niccolò Schirò, who took the title after a closely-fought season with Gianmarco Raimondo – a debutant in the series but a top-runner since the beginning-. Both RP Motorsport´s young-aces attended the event to receive their trophies after completing a glittering season. 

Kevin Giovesi, driving for DAV Racing, was in Monaco as well, after claiming the win in the Copa classification driving a Dallara F308. Alexandre Cougnaud, representing toTop F3 and 3rd in the Copa after another outstanding year, was also awarded. 

Mans Grenhagen (Emilio de Villota Motorsport), third overall, and Moisés Soriano (Cedars Auto sport), runner-up to Giovesi in the Copa, were missed at the event.

However the ceremony attracted a large representation of F3 Open faithful participants, including teams such as RP Motorsport, DAV Racing or Top F3.

In his address, Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, stressed the level of the 2012 championship and stated that GT Sport is looking forward to 2013 with optimism. “This is because we have gained the trust of teams and drivers that have been with us, and we see growing interest from new potential participants. You, teams, drivers, manufacturers and sponsors are the true actors of the F3 Open”, he commented.