Brilliant double win for Harrison Scott at Paul Ricard


The driver racing under the RP Motorsport banner took his fifth win of the season today at Circuit Paul Ricard. Troitskiy (Drivex) secured another second place finish ahead of Fittje (Fortec). Troitskiy won the Rookie class once again ahead of Fittje and DeFrancesco (Carlin)

The Euroformula Open provided spectators and TV viewers with another extremely exciting race as drivers returned to the battle for championship honors at Circuit Paul Ricard. A scorching hot day saw another action-packed race with Briton Harrison Scott (RP Motorsport) claiming his fifth win of the season to put the icing on a very impressive 2017 season start cake.

After three events, Scott is still the points leader with a solid margin on Indian Ameya Vaidyanathan (Carlin). Behind, Russia’s Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex) moved to third in the standings chasing Vaidyanathan with two second-place finishes to his credit on French soil. German Jannes Fittje (Fortec) and Canadian Devlin DeFrancesco (Carlin) round off the top five. After two wins, Rookie class leader Troitskiy holds a lead of 6 points on Fittje. DeFrancesco sits currently third ahead of Petru Florescu (Campos Racing) and Eliseo Martínez (Teo Martín Motorsport). In the Teams’ classification, RP Motorsport extends its lead ahead of Carlin and Drivex.

In the morning, Scott delivered another unbeatable performance to snatch his second pole position of the weekend. Scott claimed a dominant pole position in hot and sunny weather (29 degrees Celsius). The series leader secured to start on the pole after posting a lap time of 1:59.576 and got the extra point. Troitskiy standed alongside the pole sitter. Behind, Fittje (Fortec) took third spot ahead of Alex Karkosik (RP Motorsport), the latter earning a remarkable row two starting position. Vaidyanathan and DeFrancesco secured an all-Carlin row three ahead of Simo Laaksonen (Campos Racing) and Christian Hahn (Drivex), they both starting from row four and their highest ever position on the grid in the series. Thiago Vivacqua (Campos Racing) and his teammate Petru Florescu filled row five and rounded off the top-ten.

At the start, Troitskiy moved into the lead ahead of Scott but still on the first lap the latter took back the first place. Behind, Fittje was running in third place ahead of Vaidyanathan, Karkosik, DeFrancesco, Florescu and Vivacqua. Behind, Matheus Iorio retired following a clash with another car.

Scott managed to pull away from Troitskiy. At the same time, Fittje was under pressure from Vaidyanthan. In the same way, Karkosik was running in fifth place but was under threat as DeFrancesco was reducing the gap. Finally, Devlin passed Alex on lap six. Only two laps later, Florescu also overtook Karkosik.

Up the front, a 3 second gap seemed too large and Scott appeared to have the race completely under control. After fifteen laps, the driver of RP Motorsport took a comfortable margin for the win. Behind, Troitskiy brought second place home ahead of Fittje. Fittje held off a late charge from Vaidyanathan, who came fourth. DeFrancesco took 5th place ahead of Florescu and Vivacqua, with two Campos Racing-entered Dallara cars. Karkosik finally came in 8th place. Martínez and Laaksonen rounded out the top-ten.

The fourth round of the Euroformula Open will take place at Hungaroring on 1-2 July.