Harrison Scott (RP Motorsport) impresses with double win


Briton claimed a second win of the weekend after putting in a dominant performance once again. Troitskiy (Drivex) and Vivacqua (Campos Racing) stepped second and third onto the rostrum respectively. Troitskiy took honors in the rookie class ahead of Fittje (Fortec) and DeFrancesco (Carlin)

The opening round of the season is just over at Autódromo do Estoril and Harrison Scott managed to take a double win for RP Motorsport. The 21-year old driver dominated the weekend and, after his faultless performance on Saturday, the Briton managed to secure another triumph today with an undisputed lights-to-flag win. Behind, Nikita Troitskiy (Drivex), who captured the pole position in the morning, drove to a second-place finish ahead of Thiago Vivacqua, the latter earning a valuable podium for Campos Racing. Troitskiy took honors in the rookie class with Jannes Fittje (Fortec) and Devlin DeFrancesco (Carlin) also securing podium finishes.

In the morning, Troitskiy mastered the wet conditions to take his second pole position in the Euroformula Open. Troitskiy edged Scott in the battle for pole position with his lap of 1:46.332… a mere ten-thousandths of a second quicker! Previously, Scott clocked a time of 1:46.342 but the Russian ace still lowered the reference time in the dying minutes. Yan Leon Shlom and Jannes Fittje secured an all-Fortec second row and Ameya Vaidyanathan (Carlin) qualified fifth on the grid and Alex Karkosik (RP Motorsport) alongside. 

In race 2, Scott made the best start to take the lead from Troitskiy. Behind, Shlom, Vivacqua, Fittje, Ameya Vaidyanathan (Carlin), Simo Laaksonen (Campos Racing), Devlin DeFrancesco (Carlin), Tarun Reddy (Fortec) and Christian Hahn (Drivex) were the running order on the very first meters of the race. Unfortunately, Karkosik spun at the first corner and the safety car was deployed to recover the damaged vehicle and clear the track. The field slowed down and as a result Daniil Pronenko (BVM Racing) hit the back of Lodovico Laurini’s car, bringing an early end to their day. 

When the safety car headed into the pit lane, Scott pulled away from Troitskiy before turning the fastest lap on lap 5. The driver of RP Motorsport built a gap of three seconds on lap 6 and at the same time Troitskiy was also pulling away from Shlom, Vivacqua, Fittje, Laaksonen and DeFrancesco. Russia’s Shlom was struggling to keep Vivacqua at bay and finally Thiago managed to pass him for third on lap nine. A clash between Fittje and Shlom forced the Russian driver to retire.

Scott controlled the race up front and when the checkered flag came out, he was ten seconds ahead of Troitskiy. Behind Scott and Troitskiy, Vivacqua secured third place. Fittje came fourth ahead of DeFrancesco, who overtook Laaksonen for fifth on the very last lap. Petru Florescu finished seventh and Reddy was 8th to score his first points. Matheus Iorio (Campos Racing) and Vaidyanathan rounded off the top-ten, the latter after producing yet another superb drive as he dropped down the order at the beginning.

The Euroformula Open now heads to Belgium for Round 2 to take place at spa-Francorchamps on 27.28 May.